Surgery Time!

Well family and friends-

Tomorrow is the big day!

Annalise goes in for her shunt surgery in the morning. We have to be down at the hospital by 10:30 to meet up with the surgeon. Surgery time can fluctuate but we are going to guess it will be around noon.

Am I nervous? Yes. Terrified? Yes. Am I prepared to bawl my eyes out tomorrow when they take her back? Yes.

But luckily my all time favorite verse applies so well:

“So do not fear, for I am with you. Do not be dismayed for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

Without my Savior, I would not have comfort or peace going into tomorrow and I am so thankful for a loving God who is always with me…One who can provide me with peace going into such a difficult situation.

Her surgery is expected to last a couple of hours and then about an hour of wake up/recovery time after that. After the wake up time is when we are allowed to be with her. We are scheduled to be there at least one full day so they can monitor the shunt to make sure it’s properly working.

We ask for prayers going into tomorrow and for the surgery itself. We also ask for prayers for a quick recovery afterwards.

We will update y’all as best as we can in the next few days but I can’t make any promises that I will have a full blog ready on Monday :p

We love you all and are so grateful for all the prayers headed our way.

We are so excited to start this new journey with our sweet Annalise and so excited to see where life leads us after surgery!

24 comments

  1. Nancy · March 22, 2015

    Prayers for your little girl! I have complete faith that the Lord will be in the room guiding the doctors as they do her surgery. I am looking forward to your next update. Hugs!

    Like

    • Cindy Hall · March 23, 2015

      Continued prayers for all of you. God bless you.

      Like

  2. Holly Jo · March 22, 2015

    Will be praying with you!

    Like

  3. tricia551 · March 22, 2015

    I am praying for your sweet baby girl, for her sweet parents and for the Doctors and staff that will be placing the shunt. Everything about this journey has been miraculous so I have complete faith that this will be the same. Give your adorable girl a big hug for me.

    Like

  4. Carolyn Bassett · March 22, 2015

    Praying

    Like

  5. Kayla · March 22, 2015

    Praying for you, I have a son who was born with a heart defect and has had 2 open heart surgeries and a host of other operations. I understand the fear of handing your baby off to a surgeon. I always sang Jesus love me, it is a simple song that I felt meant a lot. “Little ones to HIM belong, they are weak but HE is STRONG!” I still make sure to sing him that song when he goes to bed. Thanks for sharing your story!

    Like

  6. Dina Kapernekas · March 23, 2015

    Hello!! My name is Dina kapernekas. Please see our website at caringbridge. Our site name is dinakapernekas

    The site tells the story of my daughter Zoe, who was born January 26, 2012, with severe hydrocephalus. She is doing great. Please call me or text me at 312-617-6915 when you are up for it. We pray for successful shunt surgery tomorrow. God bless you. Love Dina

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  7. Stephanie · March 23, 2015

    Praying for your precious little girl!!! The shunt surgery for our granddaughter was very smooth and we are praying for the same for you!!! God bless you all!!!

    Like

  8. Tim and Karen Hall · March 23, 2015

    Dear Kevin & Candace,
    Just wanted to let you know our little prayer group has all your backs. Cannot wait to see what the Lord will do in His little one’s life. We love you all, please give her a kiss for us! “Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth” (3 John 1:2)..

    Like

  9. Lindy Wiens · March 23, 2015

    We will be praying for you all as well as the surgical team! Blessings to you all!

    Like

  10. Donna Thiessen · March 23, 2015

    Praying for all of you. Letting a child go to surgery is terrifying for any parent. Praying for a quick recovery and a great outcome.

    Like

  11. larisha · March 23, 2015

    I will think about you guys though out my day hope she does well hang in there update when you can

    Like

  12. Airel Schuster · March 23, 2015

    Prayers from everyone here in Colorado! My friend wanted me to tell you her son had the same thing and he will be graduating high school in May! Praying for your daughter to have a bright long future

    Like

  13. Angie · March 23, 2015

    Prayers for your sweet family!!

    Like

  14. Alicia Lynch · March 23, 2015

    Prayed for you in our Sunday School class this morning. Will Continue to pray and share with our Prayer Warriors.
    I did a lot of crying when my son had shunt surgery. It’s what Mommy’s are supposed to do.

    Like

  15. Brittney Fulp · March 23, 2015

    Praying for Annalise, you, and your husband even now as I head to bed. Praying for good rest for all three of you tonight and then for a peaceful morning as you head in for the surgery!

    Lord, we praise You because, not only are You good, but You are in complete control! What more could we ask for?! Thank You for holding sweet little Annalise in Your arms tonight and for continuing to hold her (as well as guiding the doctor’s hands) in the operation room tomorrow! I believe, from reading these posts, that I can speak for Annalise’s parents on this, for this seems to be the cry of their heart in everything they say…We trust You!

    Like

  16. apkupload · March 23, 2015

    Thank you
    Fantastic Blog
    Good luck
    ………………………….
    My Website
    http://apkupload.net/
    }”?

    Like

  17. SherryTyler · March 23, 2015

    Will be thinking and praying for you today…. May God be with all of you….

    Like

  18. Lisa · March 23, 2015

    Prayers for Annalise, you, and your husband today! Best wishes for a speedy recovery!

    Like

  19. Carol Johnson · March 23, 2015

    Praying all is well.

    Like

  20. Virginia Frey · March 23, 2015

    My boys 6 and 11 years old are praying and asking prayer at their Wednesday evening Bible club.

    Like

  21. ajkelley73 · March 23, 2015

    I ha c e been praying for your sweet family. I am looking forward to hearing some goods news about her surgery.

    Like

  22. jimmy capps · March 24, 2015

    `my prayer are goin out ta yall hope fer a fast recovery

    Like

  23. Ashley · March 26, 2015

    Been checking in for updates. I hope everything went well. I think about sweet Annalise often.

    Like

Leave a Reply

