True Love

Hello my dear family and friends!

I just wanted to tell you a quick, funny story! Yesterday (Wednesday the 11th), I was at my normal checkup. My OB got out his sound doppler to check the heartbeat and after going all around my stomach, he said he was going to send me to go get a sonogram to see if she was still head down. The heartbeat was a little faint but sounded “high” to him…like she had flipped to where she would be breeched. Because we are doing a C-section, it wouldn’t matter if she was head down or not. He just wanted to check because it will prepare him for what he will see first. 😉 And apparently, it will tell him exactly how to make the cut come surgery time.

Anyways….Kev and I go back to the ultrasound room to have a quick look. Luckily, she was still head down so everything turned out fine. Fortunately, we always have the same lady who does our ultrasounds, so she always tries to get Annalise to show her face whenever we have one done. This is because she knows we haven’t seen her face since we were 18 weeks along. Anyways, as she was pushing the device into my stomach to get Annalise to move to where we could see her face, Annalise just decided to kick her right where she was holding the device!!!

I could not help but laugh at how ornery Annalise is! She’s so perfect. I can’t help but think of her as a fighter. Not letting us see her face until she is out. Proving the doctors wrong by not dying in the womb and doing so well in there. Those are just two of the main things that make her a fighter and I am sure that once she is out, she will amaze me even more!

Here’s a random thought I just had. I know how much y’all love these! 🙂

People always say you don’t know what love is until you have a child or that you’ll never know true love until you’re a parent. How many people truly believe that? Believe me, I fully understand the different kind of love a mother feels for her own child. But how can one sit here and not realize that we have been shown what true, real, genuine love is before?

My mind wanders to the passage in 1 John 4:7-21. This passage is reminding us that God is the source of all love; God models what genuine love is; and God commands us to love one another. God is the truest and most pure form of love. He is the embodiment of love. If someone wants to know what love is, then look at God. His character and his essence are love.

And since God is love, love comes from God. God’s love is a model for how and why we are to love. God has loved us in a way that has given us life. The greatest love is Christ dying on the cross for us. John 15:13 says, “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.” Because Jesus died on that cross, we as believers come into a world where love is received and expressed. In essence, human love flows from God’s own love.

I guess what I am getting at is this: God is the ultimate example of love. It doesn’t take having a child or becoming a parent to know what true love is. We have a God whose being is love. And I’m definitely not saying that the love parents have for their children isn’t real or genuine, but that we have been given something that trumps all other loves- this is the love of God for His people.

Anyways….random thoughts over!

To end this post I’m just going to say that tomorrow is going to be a bittersweet day for me. It’s my last day of work until the end of April. I cannot believe how fast time has gone. Next week, I will be getting everything ready, going in for my last doctor appointments and lab work, and then walking into the hospital at 5:30 in the morning on Friday to get ready for the birth of our baby girl. We are so close!

I can’t wait to tell y’all how our unexpected journey ends up next week. I know y’all are going to be waiting on the edge of your seats just waiting for an update. 😉 But I promise I will get it updated in due time.

I know I say this almost every post, but we seriously cannot thank you all enough for the prayers and thoughts! We are so grateful for all of you.

We love you all!

Leave a Reply

